Thank you to the person who asked me about my outlook.

Thank you to the person who didn’t have to care, but did anyway, and made an effort to show it.

Thank you to the person who “got it” when I said I didn’t like fashion or celebrity chit-chat, and made me feel understood.

Thank you for asking, listening, and understanding what I said.

Thank you for telling me it is possible to understand why society has rules and convention, without following them within yourself. Thank you for telling me that is a good thing. It meant the world to me that you went out of your way to understand and keep that fire burning in me, for no gain of your own, simply because you cared.

The world needs more people like you. I hope everyone has someone who cares enough to discover, learn, and perhaps keep someone else’s fire burning.

So thank you for telling me I am not alone by showing me a little bit of who you are, and telling me to embrace my unconventionality, not quash it.
A quote I read recently which resonated with me and is relevant to this post is as follows:

“Keep a little fire burning; however small, however hidden”

– Cormac Mccarthy

